• The NSF-funded Cyber-Physical Systems research project on Control of Vehicular Traffic Flow via Low Density Autonomous Vehicles, was exhibited at the 2018 Washington, DC Auto Show’s Public Policy/Media Days from January 24-25, 2018 at the Washington, DC Convention Center. Check out the story for a link to an on-camera interview!

  • Research team including Dan Work, Miles Churchill, Nate Hamilton, Shumo Cui, R'mani Haulcy, Rahul Bhadani, Rafael Stern, Benjamin Seibold, Matt Bunting, Maria Laura Delle Monache, and Jonathan Sprinkle

    We are the first in the world to show that self-driving cars can make traffic better for the cars around it. Check out the YouTube video that goes along with the research results!

  • Edition 13 of Modern Control Systems by Dorf and Bishop

    Prof. Sprinkle has been using videos to help students learn control systems through YouTube since 2013. Now, a new version of Modern Control Systems (Dorf and Bishop) uses videos developed by Sprinkle as an integral part of the text.

  • The story of the CAT Vehicle REU site, told by UA News. See http://uanews.org/videos/wanted-young-engineers-drive for more details.

  • Congratulations to the CAT Vehicle 2015 researchers for a successful demonstration! You can read more about their projects and each of the researchers on the CAT Vehicle Website (http://catvehicle.arizona.edu/cat-vehicle-2015).

  • Bruce Wright, Ann Hart (facing away) and Sean Whitsitt.

    The CAT Vehicle 2014 REU Team played a key part in the demonstration of the autonomous car to UA President Hart, and the role of research from main campus down at the UA Tech Park. Students Destinee Simone and Alice Kim were part of the demonstration team. Check out the pictures to see more!

  • Vice President of Innovation Dave Allen

    Tech Launch Arizona at the University of Arizona is focused on helping transition technology from faculty to industry in the state of Arizona. Prof. Sprinkle was interviewed for part of this report about his experience using TLA and Wheelhouse to transition the invention to market.

    See the news report at http://www.TucsonNewsNow.com/clip/10461142/ua-tech-launch-arizona

  • Prof. Sprinkle was honored on March 25, 2014, alongside faculty and staff from other UA Colleges as a receipient of the Catapult Award. Sprinkle and his colleagues Susan Lysecky, Xiao Qin, and Manny Teran have partnered with Tech Launch Arizona by filing invention disclosures on their closed-loop cost controlling thermostat technology, working with the Wheelhouse to create and build the start-up Acomni LLC, and being a two-time customer of the Wheelhouse Proof-of-Concept program.

  • On February 18-19, 2014, we held a one and a half-day workshop designed for researchers who aspire to participate in NSF's Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) program. The workshop was by invitation only, and was open to people with research interests in cyber-physical systems who have not previously been funded by NSF as part of the CPS Program.  The goal of the workshop was to help aspiring PIs understand what NSF (and importantly, the panels convened by NSF) are expecting to see in a successful CPS proposal.

  • In an effort to increase communication and collaboration across various disciplines of researchers working with technology to improve human health, a group of University of Arizona researchers has come together to create the UA Mobile Health Special Interest Group.

News from @jmscslgroup on Twitter

Collaborator presents our team’s CPS research at this distinguished venue. https://t.co/RF0HgYhKOT 11/16/17
RT : New tests show that in traffic, even 1 automated vehicle can help eliminate jams & reduce fuel consumption https://t.co/vTSMt7K2nN 6/13/17
RT : Adding just a few self-drive cars to the road gets the traffic flowing https://t.co/JJirtyJvRD via 5/24/17
RT : Just a Few Driverless Cars on the Road Will Make Traffic Way Better https://t.co/Mel5VVJDT1 via 5/24/17
RT : Watch an Autonomous Car Prevent a Traffic Jam From Forming https://t.co/z8ngeUtEiO https://t.co/hiYZ1J5ScZ 5/12/17

Compositional Systems Lab

Casey Mackin earned a 2012 Astronaut Scholarship.
Winning team (L to R): (I-Corps Administrator), Manny Teran, Jonathan Sprinkle, Xiao Qin, NSF's Babu Dasgupta.
Prof. Jonathan Sprinkle (AP Story, 6/2012)
Team members with the platform.
Unmanned aerial vehicle, as featured on the newscast.


Subscribe to Compositional Systems Lab RSS